Almost there… – Google Summer of Code

In two weeks the Google Summer of Code 2016 will end.

I’m planning to finish my project in the next week, leaving the final week to clean code and write some documentation. I’m currently working on the development of the Object Diagram, and this work is on review. There’re some things missing to implement, and  Oliver Kellog and Jonathan Riddel are helping me to solve the issues and finish this task.

In the beginning of this month, I stopped to work on my project. I was traveling a lot and not having time to sit down in front of my laptop and work. After I come back to my home, I started to have a lot of difficulties to go back to work like before.

I reached the guys on the Facebook group to see if they could cheer me up. And they did. Also, I’m in a phase of my life that my depression is on my way, and is being really fucking hard go through this. I’m sharing this here, because I’m not the only one with depression, and I won’t be the last one. And it’s good for me put some things out.

I’m happy that in Lakademy(May) and Randa Meetings(June), I worked a lot on my project, and that will allow me to finish the project until the beginning of the final evaluation.

I had a lot of issues with my mentor, I was lost most of the time, but the community that I’m in, KDE, had my back, and now I’m having someone to review my work, and that is giving me a new breath to continue my work and finish the project.

I learned a lot with my project, and programming to me is like a puzzle, I need to solve it, but sometimes the puzzle gets too hard to solve, so I give a break and read a book or watch some series to clean my head to go back to work later with my mind refreshed.

Join KDE was one of the best things that happened in my life lately. All the experience that I had since I join the community, let me grew up personally and professionally.

Well, when I finish my project, I will share with you all the things that I did, the difficulties and the challenges of this work. But for now, I leave you with…

That’s all folks!

 

 

 

8 thoughts on “Almost there… – Google Summer of Code

  1. Lays, thanks for sharing. I’m also in a similar situation in my life, slowly climbing out of depression myself. At least I think I am, maybe I’m not objective about it anymore after so much time. Hope to have enough strength to contribute to KDE again soon. So I know how hard it is to contribute in such a condition and it’s great to see that you still gathered strength to do whatever you can for KDE/GSoC. Respect. And if you would like to talk about anything you are free to write me.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. You don’t have to be so worried about it you know. KDE is pretty chill and if every one knows, why you screwed up, they won’t make such a big deal out of it. Everybody screws up at sometime. Good luck for a successful GSoC 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Hey Lays,

    You do a lot for the community, join a lot of events (even if I have still never met you). Which is awesome.

    My small advice: take the time to read more books, have fun often, and don’t be afraid of missing one community meeting. Contributing is great, but don’t get sick about it.

    All the best, cheers and have fun 🙂
    Olivier

    Like

  4. I guess I’m being an idiot, but It’s kinda comforting to know that I’m not the only one who has its struggles. I hope you can overcome (or, being more realist, learn to live with) everything that bothers you, so that you can, as much as you desire, keep doing the awesome things you do for the community.

    Like

Leave a Reply

