My adventures on crafting PT I

craftbannerbender2c

Today I will start my little histories of adventures using KDE Craft.

Craft is a KDE tool to build KDE applications on Windows and Mac environment. It’s a tool that bootstrap and abstract part of the work to build everything…

Since the time of Emerge, the father of Craft, I was trying to build some KDE applications with this tool. The first experience was with Umbrello when I did my participation in Google Summer of Code last year.

And since the end of last year, I’m trying to build AtCore on Windows, because, sadly, most of the 3dprinters users uses Windows. So we need to have our application running on that environment.

The motive that I started to craft again, is because we are planning to release AtCore and it’s testing client on the next KDE applications 17.04 release.

So would be an awesome win(and start), if we launch the Windows version at the same time.

Since last time I used Craft, a lot changed. And I really thanks Hannah for her hard work on getting this tool working with such a grace. =D

Craft is not easy, for me at least, there’s a lot of catches that if you do not pay attention, you will be asking Hannah stupid questions… Like:

Q:Why is it not working if Direct X is installed?

A: Well, you need to install Direct X SDK, not Directx only…

I lost count on how many times I set up a Windows machine, and stumble on that issue… Because I forgot a stupid step, that was installing that devil SDK.

But lately, Craft has made big steps, to make easier the building. One problem that we encounter using craft, is that craft compiles everything, from every Qt dependency on your project to KDE frameworks that you use. So, if you don’t have a powerful machine, you will lose some hours to setup everything.

But this week Craft, on the stable branch, has a cache… So you already have Qt and KDE frameworks compiled, so you can just Craft the project that you want, and if everything is set up right, it only will compile your project, after download and extract all dependencies that you need.

So after some hours, and bothering Hannah on Telegram, I was able to craft Kate, as you can see the result below:

18402122_1334369413305635_6902552158537621844_o.jpg

It took about 15 minutes to build Kate, using the cache. =D

That Cache on Craft makes a lot of easier to compile KDE applications that have a set up on it. My next step is to build AtCore and generate the installer using… Craft! Because Craft isn’t only a tool to build, is a tool to packing too. So, I’m really excited to see what adventures will come next. And with bonus, learn a little more about Python, since Craft uses it to build the scripts.

And I really did a good contribution to Craft this week. AtCore has like dependency QtCharts, but the Charts wasn’t available, yet, on Craft, and by default, Craft uses Qt 5.6.2, were QtCharts isn’t available in a tar.gz file, only on git, but with a joined force with Hannah, we were able to setup the script to build QtCharts, from the Qt git, and my base setup to build AtCore was done.

And now… if you want to know more, keep up on my next posts. =D

If you want to check more about Craft, you can check Hanna’s blog here.

That’s all folks!

One thought on “My adventures on crafting PT I

Leave a Reply

